CPCCG logo
The CCG ceased to exist on 1 July and this website is no longer being updated. Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Integrated Care Board, part of the Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Integrated Care System, took over the statutory responsibilities of the CCG. Please visit CPICS
Home » News and events » Campaigns » Latent TB screening

Latent TB screening

At least 350 patients have already undergone a simple check to find out whether they might be at risk of developing active TB, thanks to a successful local screening programme that has now been running for almost a year.

At least 40 local patients have so far received treatment for Latent TB (a sleeping form of Tuberculosis) as part of this programme, too.

Latent TB screening is available to those who: 

  • are aged 16-35;
  • have settled in the UK within the last 5 years;
  • have lived in a country where cases of TB are common; for example*:
    • Afghanistan
    • Cambodia
    • East Timor
    • India
    • Kenya
    • Nigeria
    • Pakistan
    • Zimbabwe

Local GP practices are offering this test because sleeping TB bacteria can make you very ill, if they ‘wake up’ and become active. When you hear people talking about TB this is usually what they mean. However, these bacteria can sleep in the body for many years without making you ill. So if you fit the screening criteria, whether you feel well or not, please register with your local GP.

The practices listed below offer Latent TB screening for newly registered patients, who meet the criteria:

For more information about latent and active TB, you can visit The Truth about TB website

* Patients who have previously lived in the following countries are encouraged to ask about Latent TB screening at their GP surgery:

 Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Botswana, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo, DR Congo, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Greenland, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Kiribati, North Korea, Laos, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe.